The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

They say, the only method of decreasing the traffic rate nowadays is by lessening the need for humans to go from home for work, education and shopping. I disagree with this statement, and in the following paragraphs, I will represent my take on this. To begin with, I can say that belittling the demand for people to commute from home to work, for education or shopping is, of course, an option to decrease the rate of traffic but first and foremost, it is not the only way. Besides, it is not kind of fair because people have a right to easily travel from one place to another. That can affect people ’s social skills, an example of this is home officing which will be really challenging. During the lockdown, a lot of people including me understood that they lack real communication and that virtual reality can never replace it. On the other hand, there are alternatives to reducing the amount of traffic. For instance, the price of petroleum, gas and other fuels can be increased, which can lead to using public traffic such as subways and buses. This can also reduce the number of car accidents because not everyone will have their own car, and one family will afford to have one car. To conclude, although diminishing the necessity for people to move from here to there can affect the quantity of traffic use, it is not the only approach to this question. There are other options that can be taken into account as the rise in the cost of fuels.