Some people think that the public health of a country can be improved if the government makes laws regarding nutritious food. Others think that it is a matter of personal choice and personal responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Obesity has become a severe problem in many developed countries like the United Kingdom. Some people argue that governments should implement laws related to nutritious food, while others believe that it is individuals' freedom to eat what they want and it is their obligation to improve their own health, and I agree with the latter's viewpoint. Some people argue that policymakers should implement regulations to encourage people to consume more nutritious meals. For example, governments could mandate all restaurants to include more healthier food in their menu. In this way, diners will have more options and the likelihood of them having junk food could be reduced. On top of that, politicians could also make it compulsory for restaurant owners to include more nutritious ingredients in their meals such as tomatoes and carrots which are rich in vitamins, otherwise, they will face harsh penalties. As a result, no matter what individuals ordered, they will enjoy a nutrious meal. However, I hold the view that rules and regulations are not good enough to improve public health. Ultimately, consumers have liberty to decide what they like for their meals. Therefore, a better way to improve public wellbeing is to raise their awareness of a balanced diet as well as the drawbacks of eating junk food all the time. Knowing that consuming junk food that contains high cholesterol and sugar would lead to high blood pressure, heart attack and stroke, the mass would be more inclined to reduce their consumption. In conclusion, whereas it is true that legislations will contribute positively to people's health by providing meals which have less sugar and fats, I argue that this approach is not adequate.To enhance people's wellbeing, governments should launch campaigns to increase their awareness of the impacts of an unhealthy diet. As a result, people would automatically switch to a balanced diet.