Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is widely known that our planet is in grave danger, and yet, the excessive usage of private cars or other vehicles is one of the major causes of environmental pollution. For this reason, some people have begun to question whether the increase in fuel cost is an advantageous solution or not. From my point of view, there are always two sides of a coin that should be carefully considered. On the one hand, raising prices or taxes on fuels such as petrol or diesel would be a considerable contribution to decreasing the levels of air pollution. For instance, the increase in fuel cost will encourage people to consider alternative methods of transport as they could no longer afford to use so much petrol. Although these taxes will initially be an economic burden,in the long run, they would lead to less traffic congestion, which means that air pollution would be at a more acceptable level. Nevertheless, inflicting heavy taxes or increasing fuel costs may arise some problems such as affecting the global economy. A case in point is the less affluent countries, which are unable to repay their debts, and as a consequence, this additional financial burden will be unbearable for them. Moreover, in general, raising prices on these sources of energy does not only put people in a financial crisis, but also restricts their freedom of travelling. Finally, it is clear that these measures may create political conflicts between the ''independent'' regions which generate energy sources and these which are dependent on them. For example, because of today's war between Ukraine and Russia, many European countries face serious problems regarding energy and conventional sources. Taking everything into consideration, I believe that imposing heavy taxes or increasing gas prices is the one significant initiative in order to protect effectively our planet. However, I firmly believe that a gradual increase would be more beneficial for everyone and for the seak of poorest countries.