Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Normally, the responsibility for mitigating environmental damage is placed on authority figures. Nevertheless, it is my conviction that citizens in each country also have an indispensable role to play. On the one hand, the action of the authorities is of paramount importance on the following grounds. First and foremost, they can enact strict laws to address environmental issues that local people have to comply with to avoid legal consequences. Furthermore, a substantial amount of money is required to diminish the negative carbon impacts as well as raise public's awareness through educational campaigns. With the involvement of governing bodies, these projects will be financially viable and successfully executed. On the other hand, the contribution of citizens should not be downplayed. The main reason is that if people are environment-conscious, the aforementioned projects will stand a higher chance of yielding fruitful results. To be more specific, were it not for residents' habitual littering, the government's burden of keeping the cities clean and organized would be greatly lessened. Besides, environmental threats can be minimized due primarily to the changes in the community's daily activities. For instance, they can start carpooling or using green modes of transportation with the aim of reducing exhaust fumes to combat air pollution - a thorny problem in today's society. Taking everything into consideration, I advocate the cooperation between legislators and ordinary residents. While the government has the financial resources and legislative power, the public will have to follow the regulations and contribute to the success of environmental campaigns.