Some people say that now we can see films on mobile phones and tablets there is no need to go to the cinema, others say that to be fully enjoyed films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the advancement of technology has changed our lives in many aspects. Smart gadgets like mobile phones, laptops and tablets together with the accessibility of the internet have created a significant impact on how people used to entertain themselves over the last decade. Many people argue that they no longer need to go to the cinema to watch movies as they can watch them on smart devices, while others believe that watching a film in a cinema is an experience which never fails to excite them fully. This essay will look at both sides before giving an opinion. On one hand, it is believed by many that, you do not need to go to a hall in order to watch a movie, owing to the fact that the majority of mobile phones consist of applications such as Amazon Prime Video and Netflix that enable you to watch your favourite films online. In addition, smart devices can store data up to a great extent, which means people can download and store movies they love the most and watch them in the comfort of their homes when they are free. Moreover, they claim that the generation today is more competitive and busy where managing one's time is essential. Hence the traditional way of watching a movie which consumes more time starting from dressing up to going to cinemas and heading back to homes is becoming a rare practice among many populations these days except on some special occasions like anniversaries and birthday celebrations. Therefore, a shift towards watching movies with the convenience of a mobile phone is more popular as it can save one’s time and money as well. On the other hand, some say that to enjoy a story to the fullest, it needs to be watched in a cinema. It is their view that the uniqueness of enjoying a film on the big screen while sitting in a corner with a pack of popcorns in your hand cannot be replaced by any other means. Take people who tend to go to movies with their whole family and friend as an example. These are the ones who claim that it helps them to improve and maintain healthy relationships which each other. In conclusion, despite the ease of watching movies from smart devices like mobile phones and tabs some still embrace watching movies in theatres. Personally, I prefer watching absorbing movies in a cinema at least once in a while as a distinctive way of spending leisure.