Some people believe history tells little or nothing, whereas others believe it makes us know the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

History keeps a comprehensive record of past events, including discovery, collection, and interpretation of information related to these occurrences. Whereas some look upon history as something trivial, I personally assume that people nowadays can learn imperative lessons from it. On the one hand, history is comparatively irrelevant to the current situation for several reasons. The lifestyle in ancient times is considerably distinct from that in the modern era. In other words, it is less likely to solve contemporary problems by taking historical records as a reference because settings in each period of time are totally different, especially those in ancient human prehistory. Additionally, since historical documents have long been organized and compiled by humans, their authenticity is worth questioning. Research conducted by National Taiwan University concluded that roughly 40% of files on the history of Taiwan under Spanish and Dutch rule lack convincing evidence; as a result, they are not objective enough, which is the most critical defect in terms of history. On the other hand, I believe that history plays an indispensable role in our times. Firstly, people are able to clearly figure out the origins and development of certain events or inventions; consequently, we can make improvements based on given facts. For example, speech-language pathologists today have developed a series of more effective and accessible treatment options by referring to previous theories. In this way, the profession is capable of providing better medical services. Secondly, history is an ideal guide that helps us avoid making preceding mistakes. To be more specific, adverse outcomes throughout human history such as tragedies caused by harmful traditional practices as well as sold superstition can be gradually averted. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, it seems to me that it is beneficial for people at the present time to look upon history as something essential.