Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

What is the most crucial quality for a city? Some propose that convenience and functionality should be the prime concern, while others contend that the beauty, in terms of architecture and natural environment, should be a pre-requisite. I am of the view that aesthetically pleasing cities are more attractive to its citizens as well as tourists alike. A beautiful city is a magnet for development and tourism. Not only would travellers want to enjoy their holiday in a heavenly environment with much greenery and architectual monuments, tycoons and merchants are more inclined to invest and develop an area which is pleasing to the eye. A noteworthy example is Lucerne in Switzerland, where the picturesque city sitting on the edge of the lake has attracted millions of visitors each year, generating much revenue for the country, which in turn helped with its own development. Hence, a breath-taking city is priceless, contributing to econonic livlihood in the form of development and tourism. Nonetheless, some may argue that the functional ability of a city is of greater signficance, as it can provides convenience for residents. Of course, a city with good infrastructures such as good transportation system, well-maintained sewage system and ability to minimise pollution can benefit our quality of life. However, these networks can all be built and established with time and resources. Illustrations can be seen in industrial cities like Manchester and Liverpool, which were cities all well maintained with adequate function. They could hardly be considered as adorable cities, and is difficult to attract foreign investments or compete with scenic cities like Lucerne. To conclude, I personally believe the amazing beauty of a city is an innate invaluable trait, which is inborn and inherited and takes priority over the function of a city. Moreover as function can be nuture and established with time and effort, having a lovely scenary to start with would be highly advantageous.