Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Consuming high sugar is one of the main culprits responsible for causing the health related issues. Many food manufacturers are manufacuturing food and beverages of having high sugar which is responsible for many disease like obesity. This problem can be tackled by making such products expensive. I partially agree with the given notion and I will discuss both views. On the first hand, conventional wisdsom says that by making unhealthy foods expensive, users can be refrained from availing them. Since, sugary edibles are causing detrimental effects on the health of people, imposing heavy duty on them will make them costlier which will lead humans to look for alternative healthy options. For instance, if consumers start drinking natural fruit juices as a substiture of expensive colas and sodas, eventually they will be saved from dangerous disease like diabitice diabetics as well as adiposity. On the other hand, I think that a mass of people would not be able to taste expensive food items as they would be out of their budget. Moreover, there are alternatives like zero calory beverages already available in market for calory- concious peson. Hence, those who want to stay fit, can opt for these type of items. To illustrate, soft-drinks company Coca Cola is also producing zero calory Diat Coke which can be consumed to avoid excessive sugar. In conclusion, sugary foods and drinks which are being produced by a plethora of manufacturers are affecting the health of consumers. The regime can levvy tax on these products to save public from many medical problems. However, according to me, the lawmakers should spread awareness about the healthy meals instead of making all meals costly; that way people can make their own choices.