Increasing population is the root cause of many other problems in emerging economies like India. In your opinion, should government intervene in the rights of an individual with regard to family planning? What are the advantages and disadvantages of such intervention?

In developing countries, the human population has been rising significantly leading to many issues. It is argued by some people that the party in power should enforce the family planning to curb the growing population while others believe that it is the right of every citizen to decide on the number of births. This essay suggests that easier adoption of law when it is enforced by governments and the boosted economy are the biggest advantages and religious conflict and possible collapse of governments are the primary disadvantages. It also agrees that the interference of governments to pass a strict law in this matter is the need of the hour to address this issue. To commence with, the primary advantage of administrators passing a law about the strict implementation of family planning is that it can be easy to uptake. When the family planning is left to the individuals, it is not guaranteed to have positive results, but when the government enforces that the benefits cannot be availed for more than two children, it is mandated to follow. For instance, educational loans and maternity leave schemes can be restricted to the third child onwards so that people do not have any incentive when it is extremely expensive to raise children. In addition, the government would be able to spend the budget on improving the infrastructure and providing more job opportunities to the lesser population which in turn makes the country economically stable. On the contrary, the probability of religious conflicts is the biggest disadvantage. As in some religions, people strongly believe that giving birth to humans is god's command and should not be restrained. Therefore, going against the rights of these people can lead to fights and the administration might fail. Despite the fact that this is a personal choice as per the religious belief, I strongly argue that the implementation of family planning is viable in the countries where such confrontations are minor. For instance, in India, the Muslim religion where women continue to give birth to their offspring in their capacity is a minority. In conclusion, the easier enablement of policies is possible by the forced enactment of family planning to restrain the population of progressing nations, in my opinion. The judicious usage of resources which can facilitate the fattening of economies are the positives and these override the disadvantages of the probable falling of the government due to religious clashes.