Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their wastes.

In this contemporary era, recycling is one of the most debatable concepts. A bunch of personages claim that the household waste is not being recycled adequately and imposing a legal requirement by governments is the sole way to increase recycling. In my opinion, although it might be an important step towards increasing the amount of recycled waste, people should be more aware of their environment and surroundings. To begin with, why people's awareness is more important than government regulation? The first and most prominent one is that the masses are unable to recycle their household wastes as they do not know the proper way to recycle. To elucidate further, if the population knows how to utilize wastes, most of the wastes would not only be recycled but also be used in several household works. for instance, from organic Wastes, it is possible to produce biofuel which can be used in cooking. A survey conducted by ILO in 2015, revealed that on average, 25% of the houses in Bangladesh use bio-plant in order to produce biogas. Therefore, awareness can be a great factor to increase the quantity of recycling waste. Moreover, imposing laws on recycling wastes by governments can also be a driving factor in this trend. If the government makes recycling Compulsory as well as a legal requirement, people Would be more encouraged to recycle their home's filth. For instance, Romania,a country in Europe, utilizes 90% of its waste that has been produced from houses, where the authority made recycling mandatory for every home. So it is inevitable that implementing a legal requirement is significant as well. To conclude, in spite of having the fact that governments can be able to highly influence the masses, it is the public awareness which would play the most essential part. Nevertheless, governments should focus on increasing public awareness regarding waste recycling.