Nowadays, most scientific research is funded and conducted by private companies, rather than government. Do the advantages of this situation outweighs its disadvantages?

In the recent times, it is not uncommon to see that the majority of scientific research is being carried out by private companies in comparison to the government. While there are benefits associated with it, there are downsides too. In my opinion the negative aspects take precedence over the advantages. One of the greatest advantage of research by private businesses is that they have excellent quality. This is largely due to their state-of-the-art facilities, which is supported by more allocation of finances. As a result, it boosts the quality of scientific experimentation and fasten up the research, unlike the government research which is outdated and slow. To illustrate the point, the Moderna vaccine by Pfizer public firm has significant efficacy to curb the coronavirus in contrast to the government produced Covaxin. Nevertheless, there are drawbacks oo if research is being funded by private companies instead of the government sector. First of all, private companies have profit driven objectives. In other words, they do not work with the impetus for the welfare of society. On the other hand, the government based experimentation is totally based on the welfare of the people. For instance, new drug formulations by private pharmaceutical firms for the treatment of cancer will cost hefty price to the individuals, which will make it unaffordable to the economically challenged classes. In addition, private corporations can exploit the research for their benefit. Such as nuclear technology, they can sell to the antisocial elements of the society which has serious ill effects for country in long run. Therefore, the government should regulate the research to avoid its misuse. In conclusion, although there are few positive aspects regarding private firm research, there are a myriad of drawbacks that outweigh the benefits. In my opinion, the government -based research is the most viable option for the betterment of society and to make nation progress.