Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home.

Nowadays, a growing number of people are choosing to work from the comfort of their own homes thanks to major advances in technology. In my opinion, there are both advantages and disadvantages when it comes to working from home. To begin with, one of the major plus points of working remotely is that you do not have to commute to work. Millions of people worldwide get stuck in rush-hour traffic to make their way to the office and back home. Obviously, this is not necessary if you turn your home into your workplace. Secondly, working at home gives you much more freedom to manage your working day. For example, if you work in an office, you are asked to attend meetings and discussions, which means you are not allowed to work at your own pace. On the other hand, it can be very easy to get distracted if you are in your home environment. It is extremely tempting to turn on the television, relax and take a nap. Another major disadvantage of working in remote locations is that people have much less contact with their colleagues. This can make them feel cut off, despite the extra freedom they have. What’s more, daily contact with people at work is often how friendships are made. To sum up, there are both positives and negatives to this way of working. I believe it is important to keep work and home life separate to find the right work -life balance.