Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Consuming high sugar is one of the main culprits causing the health-related issues. Many food manufacturers are manufacturing foods and beverages consisting of excessive sugar which is responsible for many diseases such as obesity. This problem can be tackled by making sugary products overpriced. I partially agree with the given notion as it may impact the finance of individuals. On the first hand, conventional wisdom says that consumers can be refrained from unhealthy foods by making them exorbitant. Since, sugary edibles are causing detrimental effects on the health of humans, imposing heavy-duty will make them costlier which will lead buyers to look for alternative healthier options. For instance, if consumers start drinking natural fruit juices instead of expensive colas as well as sodas, eventually they will be prevented from dangerous diseases like diabetes as well as adiposity. On the other hand, I think that a mass of people would not be able to taste sweeter meals if made expensive, as it would be out of their budget. While middle-class families have set monthly finances for their expenditures, soaring prices of items can disturb their estimates drastically which will lead them to avoid enjoying the desired food and drink that they are consuming occasionally. To illustrate, in India, when a person of an ordinary income organises a party at home, the majority of beverages they arrange are soft drinks which can drastically impact the funds reserved for the event. Hence, to alleviate the financial burden, hosts may think to remove these items from a menu. In conclusion, sugary foods and drinks which are being produced by a plethora of manufacturers are affecting the health of consumers. The regime can levy tax on these products to save people from many medical problems. However, I also think that lawmakers should spread awareness about healthy meals in lieu of making all sugary meals costly; that way people can make their own choices.