Some people believe that developments in technology make life too complex and that the solution is for everyone to accept a simpler way of life without using that technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some critics argue that advancements in technology contribute to a much more complicated life, and users would be better off if they avoid using technology. Although a complete ban on technology has its merits, I disagree with it as it is counter-productive. To begin with, many critics believe that complete avoidance of technology simplifies an individual’s life because it removes unnecessary distractions. Nowadays, the Internet is ubiquitous. They can use their mobile phones or laptops whenever and wherever they want. Unfortunately, these devices have become sources of distractions for them. Instead of concentrating on their tasks, they often end up wasting their time surfing the Internet or watching short video clips. Therefore, if there were no technology available, users would be free from distractions and it would be easier for them to complete their assignments. However, I believe that avoiding technology entirely is counter-productive and there is a better remedy available. First and foremost, new technology, in reality, has brought more convenience to people's life. Take the example of sending emails to colleagues and customers. If workers stopped using emails, they might have to resort to snail mail, which would take days or even months to reach recipients. Using time-management applications to reduce a person’s screentime is more appropriate. In this way, they can utilise technology when needed and restrict their usage when they are focusing on their priorities. In conclusion, while it is true that people will have fewer distractions if they do not have access to technology, I disagree with this method. This is because it may be a success at the expense of productivity, and using time-management applications is a better way to regulate users’ lives.