Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is widely recognized that nowadays, learning a second language is a global common phenomenon. It is often argued that this reason for learning another country’s languages is for a trip or having a job in another nation, while others regard that there are other various purposes for a new language. First of all, there is a persuasive argument that people learn another language for certain reasons besides work and travel. For instance it could be for various other purposes like to understand and enjoy world wide media which is shared all over the world. For instance, there is a reliable case in Korea, ‘Squid game’ in ‘ Netflix’, which is produced in Korea with Korean. It is getting popular all over the world, consequently, the demand for people who are keen to learn Korean has increased dramatically. On the other hand, it is clear that people acquiring a second language for going overseas or being employed in another country are more practical aims for learning a second language. The ability of speaking native language in foreign land could provide people wide-range of opportunities to live. By way of illustration, I majored in ‘ Chinese ‘ at university and to study abroad in China. Since I acquired high levels of Chinese language skills, I’ve been employed as an interpreter in a trading company in China before graduating university. Hence, I firmly believe that the most important and fundamental reason for learning foreign language is for travelling and getting an occupation abroad. To sum up, it is apparent that studying foreign language is a good way to understand another nation, however / conversely it is undeniable that learning a second language should have more practical goals for life.