Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The discussion of what kind of personality should be encouraged is of great concern. Some people believe that a sense of competition is more useful, whereas others argue that cooperation is of paramount importance to children. In my opinion, competition and cooperation are not mutually exclusive, and both competition and cooperation should be encouraged in children. A sense of competition contributes to individuals’ success and social progress. It is widely acknowledged that competition plays a considerable part in motivating individuals to perform better. In another word, it can drive children to be better in both academic performance, self-discipline, career success and other aspects. The sports competition is a good telling example. It is a sense of competition that motivates athletes to break records and pushes them to achieve their career success. A leader who is told to be competitive in childhood is more likely to provide better services or cutting-edge products since he is not willing to be left behind and then make an every effort to create new ideas, which can therefore promote social progress. On the other hand, cooperation helps children to improve their communication and organization skills, which play a significant role in work. In most cases, the main purpose for cooperation is accomplishing a task or reaching a consensus, so organizing a meeting seems necessary. To organize a meeting, team leads need to coordinate with the place where the meeting is held, and the time when all members are available, which provide a good chance for team leaders to foster their organization skills. And during the meeting, members share their thoughts with others, by which they can improve their communication skills. Both of them are useful skills in work, for they are conducive to work efficiency and effectivity. To conclude, from my perspective, competition and cooperation should be encouraged in children, since they are favourable to individuals and society to a certain extent.