Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

It is increasing in some countries that students tend to choose non- science subjects in university. There are a variety of reasons for this phenomenon, including individual preferences, influences from families and guidance of society. The effects of this trend have been shown negatively on society. Regarding the reasons causing that more and more students are not willing to study science -related subjects in university, it could be influenced by individuals, families and society. Firstly, the standard of living in many countries has been increased largely in recent years which gives young people access to some fields such as art, music and sports and more people find out their interests and talents in those fields, therefore they would like to study deeper and have careers in those directions. Secondly, some parents believe that scientists would not earn as much money as other professionals such as lawyers, software engineers and financial professionals, which could impact significantly their children’s choices of subjects in university. Finally, society lacks promotions about the benefits of studying science subjects which leads to fewer people knowing about the importance of science to society. For example, there are fewer public activities online and offline related to science education compared to entertainment events like concerts or tv shows. The effects of fewer people engaged in the scientific area could be stagnation and regression of development of the society. From the history of modern society, we know that science contributes hugely to the growth of technology, the medical industry and the economy. For example, computers were invented based on mathematics and the study of genetics empowers doctors to have the ability to cure diseases like cancer. However, there are still many things we do not know such as the origin of the earth, the space and the intelligence of human beings. If fewer and fewer people are involved in the investigation of those questions, it could cause less innovation and revolution to happen and would be a bottleneck for the development of our society. In conclusion, different factors from individuals, families and society lead to the lack of people who would like to study in the science field in university in many nations, and this would bring negative effects on the society as I have mentioned in this essay.