Increasing the peice of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

At the present time, there is an idea that if we increase the price of petrol then we can resolve traffic and pollution. In my view, this approach is too naive and I do not believe that it could be effective. In this essay, the main reason for my opinion and another viable solution will be discussed. To begin with, increasing the price of petrol will not stop people to use their vehicles and therefore it can not solve this problem. To illustrate this, so much fluctuation can be seen in the price of fuels in countries such as Iran, but it did not affect the number of vehicles used in these countries during rush hours. Furthermore, petrol is a fuel that is used in many things other than cars that people tend to use on a daily basis. Consequently, if the value of petrol starts moving up it will not have a significant effect on traffic and pollution. Lastly, the best way to resolve traffic and pollution is to push the government for regulations and legislation to help this matter. Taking China, for example, the government commissioned car industries to upgrade electric cars so that by 2030 more than 20 per cent of cars in China would work with batteries and also they would be autonomous. this policy in China will have numerous positive effects on the climate like clean air. Moreover, recent studies have shown that autonomous vehicles can help reduce traffic in major cities. Thus, governments can solve traffic and pollution by pushing the relevant industries to focus more on electric vehicles that are autonomous. To conclude, there is a notion that the traffic will be solved by increasing the price of petrol. In my opinion, the value of fuel is not relevant to the matter so this solution will not work. Given the current circumstances, It is recommended to try to push authorities to investigate the issue at hand.