Students leave highschool without learning how to manage money.Causes and solutions for this issues.

These days, high school graduates are said to lack knowledge in personal money management. This issue stems from a lot of factors and it could be tackled by several solutions from both teachers and parents. There are two main culprits leading to this problem. To begin with, the current educational system places an overemphasis on academic subjects while essential life skills, including personal financial management are being neglected. Students are familiar with answering theoretical questions yet feel like balancing their income and expenditure. Additionally, most high school learners experience a carefree period of adolescence as their parents always free them from financial problems. They take their parents ’ material support for granted and lavish cash on unnecessary purchases. The overindulgence and overprotection from parents have made their children irresponsible for spending money they are offered effectively. In order to overcome these negative situations, several specific measures can be taken by both teachers and parents. Firstly, soft skills, especially payment managing lessons, should become a compulsory subject in the school curriculum, which would help equip learners with the knowledge and skills to manage their own personal finance when they leave school to enter the workforce. Furthermore, parents should spend time with their children teaching them how money is earned and used for either savings or expenses. For example, one simple step for parents to start is teaching their offspring how to get by on their pocket money and expand into more serious household costs as their child grows up. As a result, they will be aware of the importance of money and how their spending needs to be budgeted and managed to avoid debt problems later in life. To sum up, it is undoubtedly clear that there are various reasons why students leave high school without acquiring the skill of managing their expenditures; however, these matters can be dealt with owing to the cooperation of both parents and teachers.