Some people think that a person improves intellectual skills better when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

Performing tasks in a group is considered to be one of the best methods to enhance the intellectual development of an individual. I completely agree with this view because of its numerous benefits. To begin with, group games and activities create a platform for the members to learn from others. Any topic or problem has arguments and opinions from different people. This will definitely give everyone a chance to look into the issue from another point of view, which will further refine their understanding.Sometimes, it is not possible for an individual to think about every perspective of a problem. However, through group studies, one can overcome this. For example, research by The British Institute for Learning showed that if individuals participated in team activities, they had a far more objective and sophisticated knowledge of a topic than their counterparts who were not part of study groups. Additionally, working in a team is also beneficial in improving mental abilities, and thinking capabilities/ working in a unit fosters the thinking ability of an individual. To explain this further, people performing in groups tend to think more effectively and discuss their views to achieve their goals. Also, this would help in widening horizons of knowledge by sharing ideas with each other. Not only this but their creative power is also enhanced by planning strategies altogether in a group discussion. Consequently, their imaginative and cognitive skills get improved by imbibing others' ideas and imaginations. Moreover, group work requires people skill wherein each individual has unique abilities. By learning and acquiring skills from others, people gain confidence. They tend to develop their mental skills more as they co-ordinate with each other. For instance, several organizations have achieved success by working collaboratively. People become more responsible and interdependent where they have to discuss and participate as a whole within a team. In addition, team management helps in building other necessary skills as well. In conclusion, performing activities together as a group has a lot of benefits for every member.