Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that only government is accountable for conserving the ecosystem as there is nothing much that individuals can help to solve the problem.While this may work to a certain extent, I would argue that environmental preservation is the obligation of both citizens and authorities. On the one hand, authority plays a crucial role in alleviating the ecosystem damage owing to their superior power. Firstly, they can legislate laws to limit the greenhouse gas emissions from both industrial operations and traffic, which is the principal pollutant causing harmful impacts on the earth. For example, green taxes can be applied to the joines who excessively emit exhaust fumes, forcing them to switch to a more environmentally-friendly system. Additionally, developing facilities of recycling stations and encouraging factories to use renewable sources of energy such as wind, and solar…. instead of fossil fuel would be helpful in conserving the surroundings. On the other hand, the sizeable contribution citizens can make in the world’s attempt to clean itself should not be underestimated. Every person can take steps to slow down, and eventually stop the damage through everyday awareness of our energy use, and attention to the ways we can save electricity and minimize fossil fuel usage. For instance, people should switch to energy-efficient lighting, improve the efficiency of home appliances, make it a habit to bring their own shopping bag instead of using plastic when going to market, and use products made from recycled materials or recyclable materials to reduce waste, which can contaminate water resources, make use of public transport instead of their private vehicles to reduce either greenhouse gas emission or consumption of fossil fuel.All these simple actions are significant to preserve the ecosystem. In conclusion, global environmental preservation should be implemented by governments, but this issue cannot be fully addressed without individuals’ efforts which play important role in reducing the environmental pollution.