Consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumer products have become the mainstay of people's lives. This essay is an attempt to study the advantages and disadvantages and provide a conclusion. On one hand, In today's fast-paced world, consumer goods are boon to humanity. Firstly, they are available in all categories ranging from automobiles, electrical appliances, food, and clothing. While the finished products provide a comfortable life, they do not cost an arm and a leg and are generally affordable. For instance, anyone can access any piece of information within a minute by mobile phone, reach any far off place in no time by vehicle, and complete household chores such as dish cleaning, sweeping and mopping the floor by clicking a button on the dish cleaner and vacuum cleaner respectively. Therefore, it provides some room for hobbies and passions for an individual to continue and leads to better living. However, Roses and thorns are known to coexist and this situation is no different. People urge to buy more and more goods, thus they become materialistic, or in other words, they become workaholics. This attitude leads to mental health problems or obesity in people. For example, the overuse of mobile phones can cater to a neural problem as it emits radio waves that can interfere with the neural mechanisms of the body. Furthermore, excessive use of automobiles is depleting our natural resources like petrol, and diesel and adds to the existing pollution levels. In conclusion, Consumerism is undoubtedly rife in modern society. It is prudent to say that while consumer goods will continue to be a boon to mankind, their usage will be regulated and monitored at the individual and government levels, thus continuing to be a boon and not a bane.