Oler people after retirement choose spending money for themselves (on holiday) rather than saving money for their children. Is it a positive or negative development?

Currently, people have different views on retirement life. I think elderly people spend more money on themselves is a positive trend. One of the significant benefits of this trend is that it improves older people's life quality. After taking care of their children for decades and devoting their best years to the employers, this is the reward they earned. Moving to a new house in rural areas to get away from traffic and air pollution, keep any kinds of plants or flower they want in their backyards, or learning instruments and painting. Retirement is the beginning of their new life. Moreover, this will improve their health. Many elderly people feel loneliness, and their children have no time to pay a visit because of work pressure. Spending money instead of saving for their children, such as leisure and recreation, can keep them in a good mode. Furthermore, more and more countries are entering aging society, if everyone is saving money for their children, the economy will stagnant. Spending on entertainment activities such as traveling and purchase merchandises and gifts on holidays will create more job opportunities, which will benefit the whole society. On the other hand, we can not neglect the side effects it brings. There is a concern that without parents’ financial assistance, many young people may suffer from high pressure. Especially in those countries where house prices and the cost-of-living stay at a high level, which their incomes fail to keep up with the inflation. For example, to purchase an apartment with 60 square meters in Beijing will empty six wallets of a family, the couple's and their four parents'. Challenge always comes with opportunity. Parents can take this chance to alter their educational strategy, which helps to cultivate their children's independence. The young generation needs to face their life all by themselves and the mindset of relying on parents is no longer an option. Overall, I think older people spend money for themselves instead of saving for children is a positive trend. This is beneficial not only to old people ’s welfare but also to young adults’ development.