Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage from using their cars?

In the last three decades, the number of people using their private cars has risen significantly. Because of this, today's cities are challenged by traffic congestion. In my perspective, this statement is completely true and will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Owning private cars, in my opinion, is commonly associated with social status, which means that having an automobile becomes a symbol of success in terms of financial stability. In many developing countries, if someone has the ability to buy a car, others will respect them. Therefore, many people try to purchase it even though they should have a mortgage from the bank. In addition to this, governments do not take higher taxes from them. Consequently, the number of car vehicles is growing compared to previous decades. To combat this problem, governments should increase taxes on automobiles. This policy can lead people to take consideration before buying a car. Furthermore, the authority could allocate a large amount of money from this tax to improve the quality of public transport. In several cities in some advanced countries such as the UK and Netherlands, they provide excellent service for public transport such as convenient waiting rooms, good maintenance, and affordable ticket prices. This policy, hence, could be implemented in other countries in order to create a better traffic jam and to ensure the safety of their people. In conclusion, while having a private car is becoming popular in many countries, it is crucial for the government to tackle this issue by introducing higher taxes for them that can reduce the number of cars on roads and encourage people to use modes of public transportation.