In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely held that as the world is developing into a digital society, individuals will soon abandon the traditional methods of reading such as newspapers and books and will shift to online reading instead. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement due to the fact that reading articles online is convenient, as well as up-to-date. A host of people are relying more on the modern means of reading via the Internet for the reason of convenience. This is because, through technology, folk have access to news, articles, or books whenever they desire and wherever they are. For example, while history students are doing their research about other nations, they could be able to explore more information which isn’t included in textbooks at any time they want, without any payment required and no longer have to carry tons of textbooks around with them. This is the case that reading online is more accessible for individuals, giving them convenience. Furthermore, another reason for an increasing number of people altering to read what they are interested in online is the possibility of getting real-time updates. Nowadays, the fast-paced world is forcing the public to receive a host of information each day in order to be updated and be aware, so reading from each individual’s phone might be the most effective way to achieve that. To illustrate, instead of waiting until tomorrow morning to obtain daily newspapers, people could easily and immediately be informed by searching on the Internet via their phones. As a result, the public is provided with real-time updated information from reading online. To conclude, there are several rationales for the change of reading methods over the time, but the aspects of convenience and keeping up-to-date are perhaps the worthiest of note why printed media become out of interest and are replaced by the online ones.