In many countries, people are woking increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative effect.

In many developing countries, youngsters tend to work longer hours in place of justifying their social bonding. There are two main aspects behind this, economical and cultural. This phenomenon is neither sustainable for the individual nor leads to better growth in the country. First of all, we focus on financial parameters for the person going through this. Because of urbanization, more and more teenagers want to live near the city centre. This boildown to the high cost of living in the area. As a result, the individual works extended hours to cope with his needs and wants. On another hand, working longer hours have an undesirable impact on a person's mental and physical health. For example, a university in China found that almost 70 to 80 per cent of individuals get diagnosed with insomnia or even worst depression every year. Of course, this situation will not yield a sustainable increase in the country's gross domestic product as the state needs to spend a lot on citizens' health thereafter. In conclusion, the world leaders should also focus on a work-life balance environment in the society rather than only on an economical factors.