The growth of consumerism has led to a ‘throw-away’ culture where people are more concerned with acquiring material possessions than protecting the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is extensively held that as consumerism rises, individuals are more worried about possessing new products rather than protecting the environment, contributing to a ‘throw-away’ culture in the present society. In my opinion, I firmly agree with this statement due to the fact that the fast-paced development of the world and continually changing trends have unintentionally forced people to accept this habit. One of the reasons for a ‘throw-away’ culture is that the development of technology has improved the ability to fastly manufacture new collections. This is because most companies are always producing new goods within a brief period of time, so customers might be attracted to the new collection and willing to throw their functional but outdated products away. To illustrate, in the fashion industry, H&M is an example of what is called a ‘fast-fashioned’ company as they constantly launch new collections. Unfortunately, consumers are so concerned with acquiring new-released products that they are unaware of the negative impacts of doing this on the environment. Furthermore, an alarming ‘throw-away’ culture is perhaps the consequence of volatile trends. To explain, what is currently trendy is influenced by the majority of folk, so in order to be up-to-date and fashionable, individuals tend to follow the trend by purchasing new products. For example, a vast number of people carried Anello, a brand of bags, which used to be popular at the time, but it was considered to be outdated rapidly due to the introduction of new bag brands. This proves that people focus on buying goods according to public trends which are changeable all the time instead of caring about the environment. To conclude, I am inclined to believe that individuals value material possession more than protecting the environment from harmful effects of a ‘throw-away’ culture because they are attracted to new collections that companies offer, as well as the potential influence of the public.