In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Railways have been an integral mode of transportation for decades. There has been the growing debate that countries should spend a substantial amount of money on the development of express trains between the place, while others believe that expenditure should be on the enhancement of existing public transport. This needs to be deliberated. As railway has been among the most economically viable mode of transit for common people and for the health of the climate too. Due to industrialization, the workforce has been restrained in the big towns. Employees working in big cities have a need to transit to their native places frequently. Due to the non-availability of fast-paced connectivity among big cities and towns, they struggle a lot to reach their home towns on time in case of urgency. Along with it, railways play a big role in reducing carbon footprint as compared to other modes of transportation. For instance, Air travel contributes to 12% of carbon footprint and private vehicles up to 40% of total carbon footprint. Keeping in mind the climate change impact has put the world has been on verge of catastrophe. Maintaining and enhancing the local public transport is equally important for the overall health of the city infrastructure. Every day millions of people travel through local buses and tramps within the cities. So, for smooth functioning of these mediums requires a huge sum of investment. This play a vital role in the growth of local business and industries whose workers can travel economically in this public mode of transportation.