Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that the citizens should be guaranteed affordable educational access to higher education institutions (HEIs) by the state without paying a cent. Personally, I strongly agree with this statement for two main reasons. First, pursuing a higher degree in a higher education institution will bolster the development of a country. Without harnessing the research and development in the university, people within a country will not be able to contribute to their country's development, resulting in a deceleration of the nation's performance at the global level. For instance, developed countries have succeeded to flee the middle-income trap due to their higher education policy that grants wide opportunities for all citizens regardless of their status to generate the advancement of research and development in society. Thus, there is no excuse for the government to not allocate a huge percentage of its total expenditures, by a minimum of 25 per cent, to ensure that the opportunity to embrace tertiary education is widely open and equal for the citizens. By implementing this, there will be a positive impact in the impending years in terms of the people's contribution to the development of the country. Second, distinguishing the poor and the rich can be portrayed as an unequal approach to educating people in a country. Indeed, a few people might assume that the rich citizens should pay tariffs for university, even higher prices than the middle-class or the lower-middle society. Nevertheless, we should, again, realise that the government has a compulsory onus to provide equal access to education for all citizens. The real problem that the government should address is to ensure that both the poor and the rich will gain the same opportunity to live a better and proper life after finishing their study. It means that the government should eliminate the tariffs for education and also maximise the student's potential to spur the development of a country utilising skills and knowledge gained from tertiary education. In conclusion, tertiary education can be beneficial for the development of a country through its research and development, thus the government should ensure that the citizens gain equal access without purchasing any tariffs in pursuing higher degrees in the university.