In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Railways have been an integral mode of transport for decades. There has been a growing debate about whether countries should spend a substantial amount of money on the development of express trains between the metropolis, while others believe that the expenditure should be on the enhancement of existing public transport. This needs to be deliberated. As railways have been among the most economically viable mode of transit for common people and for the health of the climate too. Due to industrialization, the workforce has been restrained in the big towns. Employees working in these downtowns have a need to travel to their native places frequently. Due to the non-availability of fast-paced connectivity between big metropolia and small towns, they have to struggle a lot to reach their home towns on time in case of urgency. Along with it, railways play a big role in reducing carbon footprint as compared to other modes of transit. For instance, Air travel contributes to 12% of carbon footprint and private vehicles up to 40% of total carbon footprint. Keeping in mind, that the climate change impact has put the world on the verge of catastrophe. Maintaining and enhancing the local public transport is equally important for the overall health of the city infrastructure. Every day millions of people travel through local buses and tramps within the metropolis. So, for smooth functioning of these mediums require a huge sum of investment. This play a vital role in the growth of local business and industries whose workers can travel economically in this public mode of transportation. To sum up, undoubtedly, existing public transport mediums need to be improved and it involves some expenditure. But, the need for new express train connectivity between different cities of a country that can evolve the overall shape of infrastructure is paramount.