In many countries, people are woking increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative effect.

It is true that work has an indispensable role to play in the context of anthropological history. However, more and more people have been working overtime nowadays. From my perspective, the phenomenon has already brought some negative impacts. In this essay, I will explain my viewpoints and reasons in detail in the ensuing paragraphs. To begin with, in the modern world, the shortage of manpower due to the low birth rate, young adult compete with each other fiercely. For instance, the candidate for a high-tech electronics industry needs a highly educated person who can speak multiple languages. Likely, it also offers an attractive salary. Therefore, once you enter this company, you will be expected to do more things. Based on such compelling evidence, the situation, this kind of extended working hours with unreasonable company policy, often makes employees struggle with whether to quit. Besides the aforementioned, these generations are much more demanding of themselves than previous generations. Having a perfectionist personality is a silent example. Moreover, the number of patients who have physical and mental problems caused by stress and overwork are rising rapidly in recent years. These indicate that using too much time for work indeed brings some drawbacks. In summary, despite the fact that working longer hours may show your diligent personality and outstanding resume, their demerits must not be ignored. Hence, it is imperative that governments should regulate a strict norms to protect the health of citizens and reduce their pressure.