More and more animals are becoming extinct because of human activities both on land and in water. What are some of the activities that cause this extinction? How can we help prevent this?

Today, the world is facing the 5th mass extinction due to exploitative human activities that have resulted in an increasing number of both aquatic and land animals facing destruction. Anyhow, this essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward solutions to solve this problem. Nevertheless, there are numerous reasons for wildlife elimination on the planet, but some of the prominent ones are forest degradation and overfishing. Firstly, forest clearance is predominantly caused due to increasing demand for palm oil plantations and petrol. For example, according to different surveys, the exploiters have already wiped out more than 80% of Amazon and Sumatra forests, and as a result, populations of the thousands of animals, such as Orangutans are facing a steady decline. Secondly, many fishing companies and fishermen are affecting the overall climate of the oceans due to overfishing. The marine animals are interconnected and the decline in the population of a particular species ultimately affects the food source of the other kind. For instance, yellow-finned tuna has already become critically endangered due to their unnecessary killing by mankind. Hence, wild creatures that heavily rely on forests and oceans are gradually losing what they call their homes, and ultimately leaving the mother earth. However, there are solutions to tackle this issue, such as massive plantation activities and sustainable fishing practices. Each country should develop a separate policy on the high-scale planting campaign to recover the lost jungles. For example, in 2018, Pakistan launched an excellent campaign called “Billion Tree Tsunami” that promises to grow 1 Billion trees nationwide. Moreover, the fishing communities should first identify unthreatened marine creatures and define their fixed numbers to catch. For instance, there are numerous apps that enable companies to learn and follow clean fishing practices. To conclude, this essay discussed how wildlife extinction is often caused by excessive fishing and deforestation. This essay also suggested that the solutions to this problem are twofold: well-managed oceanic practices and a greenery restoration across the globe.