In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is not uncommon to see that products are shown in advertisements nowadays always imply that they are new to some degree. In this essay, the reasons for this tendency will be discussed, followed by my explanation that why I view this as a positive trend. There are primarily two factors contributing to those organizations keeping renewing their products on a regular basis. The first one is that the firms want to draw public attention. There are various choices in the market for consumers, which make it hard for them to stick to one product for too long. They will either get bored or be attracted by other newly released items. Constantly releasing novelties can help businesses impress potential and existing consumers. Another point is that companies need to apply such advertising strategies to win over their competitors in the market. New items with distinguished styles and functions can surely gain them more advantages compared with peer companies. In regard this business trend, it can exert more positive effects on both consumers and manufacturers. To have some advantages over their rivals, firms would either lower their prices for the novelties or add new functions to them. For consumers, it is favourable to have more choices of newly-launched products which could be more functional or even affordable. Manufacturers can also benefit from this, as updating their products frequently can help them to retain customers and keep them coming back, thus more revenues would be earned, meeting their profit-oriented goal. As discussed above, businesses usually emphasise the new traits of their goods these days due to the reason that they want to win the competition among peer companies, addressing more attention from customers. And this is a positive trend as this can benefit both consumers and manufacturers.