Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that in order to improve safety on the roads the government should create strict rules for drivers, which will include hard punishments; others think, that there are other ways to reduce car accidents. In my opinion, strict punishments should exist, since traffic accidents can even lead to death, but it should not be the only method to decrease the number of accidents. On the one hand, some argue, that strict discipline is the key method for reducing the number of victims on the roads. In particular, the risk of paying a big fee or losing a license is a huge motivation for a person to drive accurately. Therefore, the number of accidents and human victims will decrease dramatically after a new rule. On the other hand, it is thought by others that people should drive carefully not because of a fear of punishment, but because of the understanding of the value of human lives. For instance, if drivers think that there are no policemen around, there will be no reason for them to follow the rules, as they will not be afraid of the punishment. Some people support the opinion that humans are smart enough to realise, that accurate driving is necessary for the safety of all the participants on the roads, and government should spend more effort in spreading information about the consequences of road accidents. From my point of view, strict punishments are necessary only for extremely dangerous actions, such as driving while having alcohol intoxication, but small mistakes on the roads can be fixed by education. For example, the cause of the mistake can be just the lack of awareness of some updates in the traffic rules, and if nobody suffered, the punishment should consist of lectures and a small examination. Therefore, bad drivers will have no chance to repeat the accident they once done, and others will feel safety instead of fear. In conclusion, strict discipline is important for road safety, but this is not the only solution to reduce the number of victims in traffic accidents. Teachers in driving schools should pay more attention to the awareness of the reasons and consequences of the accidents.