Living in a city is bad for health. To what extent, Do you agree?

It is universal knowledge that many health problems stem from urban’s life activities. Thus, some people advocate for leaving the city for their well-being. This essay will discuss how living in big cities affect people ’s health and give my opinion. On the one hand, there is no doubt that most citizens are vulnerable to breathing problems. This is because many cars and factories release toxic gases into the atmosphere, which will then be inhaled by people living nearby. As a result, these dangerous chemicals slowly destroy their respiratory systems and cause asthma or lung cancer. Additionally, people ’s mental health is severely degrading due to the luxurious lifestyle in the city. By playing loud music at night and abusing lighting systems in tall buildings, many citizens make it impossible for others to sleep comfortably, meaning they become bad-tempered in the morning. Furthermore, the government struggles to control viruses from spreading during pandemics as rules are not followed strictly. It can be inferred from the COVID-19 outbreak that the more populated a city is, the more likely its hospitals are to become overloaded. On the other hand, we must acknowledge the benefits of living in metropolitans, particularly healthcare. Those supporting the urban lifestyle claim that hospitals there cure diseases much faster and more efficiently than suburban areas do, thanks to the development of technology. They also argue that many big cities are successful in sustaining an environment suitable for living. For instance, Amsterdam, the capital of the Netherlands, reports a dramatic drop in lung problems when authorities encourage people to use eco-friendly methods of traveling like public transport or bicycles. However, since many metropolitans are still under-developed, predominantly Asian or African, they will probably not see the same changes like those in the West. In short, living in big cities on people ’s health remains negative. Many measures have to be taken to make metropolitans’ environment safe for people to stay in.