Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is commonly believed by certain individuals that some prisoners should punish to do society volunteer work instead of staying in jail for quite a long time. In my opinion, it is necessary to maintain the punishment that stays in jail and as the main action to restrict their behaviour. Besides, it encouraged to let small group of people can choose to take part in charities works instead. On the one hand, it is essential to maintain the jail as the majority of punishment. Otherwise, prisoners would lose their frighten of law due to lack of suitable punishments. For example, if a young prisoner did not need to go to jail or suffered other relevant punishments, they would not form a correct recognition of law and values resulting them consistently repeating their wrong actions and made a huge disaster in the end. The aim of punishment is to let prisoners have the chance to identify the correct and wrong, which can permenent benefit their whole life. On the other hand, it is encouraged to let certain prisoners, which breaks the law by accident without causing enormous damages, working as volunteers in society instead of staying in jail for quite a long time. For young children, whose age is under 18, might break the law and regulations due to have not established comprehensive recognition of the law, and such a special group of people may learn bad habits from other prisoners who have repeated commit crimes several times. Regarding these special groups, it is necessary to take slightly actions. In conclusion, it is still a need to keep the bars in order to realize the goal of the criminal law, while, we can change specific punishment depending on specific consequences and explore more efficient approaches that can balance the benefit between society and individuals.