Tobacco should be treated as illegal like other drugs. Smoking has not a single positive issue but lots of negative effects and therefore, it should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement.

Nowadays, a lot of people especially the youth smoke a lot and this has resulted in many tobacco -related illnesses such as lung cancer. For that matter, I totally agree to a greater extent than tobacco should be treated as illegal like other drugs because it causes a lot of harm than good to society. The essay below will delve into this issue at length. First and foremost, smoking tobacco has become a trend,especially among young people, and this has caused many diseases related to it. For instance, a study conducted in Hong Kong in 2018, showed that 89% of the youth smoked tobacco despite the fact that campaigns had been done to discourage them from smoking. Moreover, the same study proved that about 56% of deaths during the same year were due to smoking. Therefore, I agree to a larger extent than tobacco must be illegalised because it brings more harm to people's health. Furthermore, the smoke from tobacco is another contributing factor to air pollution. It does not end there but non-smokers are also forced to breathe polluted air which at times causes allergy reactions. For instance, a Chinese researcher, Jone Leo, discovered that most people smoke in public spaces without considering the next person. About 34 out of 50 people he observed did not show any remorse even when children around them started to sneeze and cough because of the smoke. Thus, I support the idea that tobacco should be treated as illegal as other drugs the reason being that some smokers are inconsiderate. In conclusion, smoking has a lot of negative effects on society. Therefore, I strongly agree that tobacco should be illegalised like other drugs because it causes a lot of diseases and air pollution. The essay above has discussed these and other issues in depth.