Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some claim that learning foreign languages before travelling or going on a business trip is helpful because it could save a lot of time and effort when communicating with foreign people. Others believe that there are still other reasons that could explain that foreign languages are worth learning. In my opinion, languages are not only communicated tools but also approaches to other cultures. It is undeniable that for those who work overseas, languages are more than tools because they utilize languages rather than appreciating them. As for those travellers who would not stay in foreign lands for the long run, languages are also a helper for them to enjoy their trip. However, these people still show their respect to the locals despite that they probably would not want to acculturate to other cultures at all. As a result, from my point of view, the reasons mentioned above are imaginable and reasonable. However, since languages are the reflection of local cultures, traditions, and philosophy to some degree, one could rapidly adapt to the local atmosphere by immersing himself in the languages. For example, Western culture is much more direct when in communication than Eastern culture. In Eastern countries such as Japan, expressing kindness is a tradition since the education there teaches citizens to mask themselves and express politeness to everyone. However, in Western areas, people tend to express their authentic feelings. Thus, for human beings who want to investigate another culture or broaden their intercultural horizon, learning local expressions would be necessary since it leads them in-depth and helps them discover the differences. In conclusion, the reason for learning foreign languages could be various. It all depends on what the learners view them as. From my perspective, languages are not only tools for work, travel, or study but also keys to exploring unknown civilizations.