It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people can travel to many countries due to the industrial revolution which accelerated the development of technology. Although we can gain knowledge from books, films, and online, I think travel to specific country can help people learn deeply about the culture. To begin with, the best way to learn about foreign culture is to travel there and experience the live. Visitors can eat delicacies and enjoy local dance with residents, whereas it is impossible to experience these activities online or through papers. For example, I traveled to Thailand three years ago. Within the palace, I saw residents show their respect to their emperor. It is hard for people who live in democratic country to realize why they honor their leader so much. In addition, it is a quite different experience to see famous architectures such as the Great Wall and Taj Mahal just in front of you. Some people may be astonished by how historical the wall is or how gigantic the palace is. For instance, I used to visit the Forbidden City and I could not believe how enormous it is. When I stood under the stairs of the main palace, I felt like I was so tiny. People cannot feel this feeling through flat pictures. Indeed, it is cheaper to learn about the culture by books, films, and online than travel to other countries. However, some local traditions may not appear on publications or online. For example, for many Asians, moon festival is the date for gathering family members and for eating moon cakes together, while for Taiwanese, we go for barbequing with our family members. This unique tradition can only be found in Taiwan. To sum up, I firmly disagree with the statement that travel is not necessary for people to learn about the culture. For me, local experiences cannot be substituted by some publications, movies, and the Internet.