In many cities, problems related to overpopulation are becoming more common. Some governments are now encouraging businesses and individuals to move out of cities to rural areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern-day age, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of overpopulation which can lead to undesirable outcomes. Thereby, this problem has ignited the public attention, and authorities come up with an idea that commercials and citizens should move to outskirts areas. In my humble opinion, this trend can bring more advantages than disadvantages. To begin with, there is a myriad of benefits happening in urban areas by shifting businesses into far-off destinations. In the first place, there has been a significant drop in the traffic congestion level downtown; commuters always undergo a bottleneck of traffic during peak hours. Likewise, if the amount of frequent travellers decreases drastically, there will have little exhaust fumes and carbon dioxides which are emitted from vehicles. Secondly, it can enhance the rural region’s economy while shop vendors are opening cafes or restaurants to fill the needs of society. Furthermore, since lives are confined in concrete jungles, prevalent diseases can be contagious easily. Accordingly, there are numerous merits not only for citizens but also for society as a whole. Nevertheless, there are still some unfavourable outcomes that the natural beauty can be spoiled because of wastes from factories. However, these consequences are not critical concerns in comparison with the above dire problems. Therefore, the government and individuals can shoulder responsibilities to protect their surroundings. In conclusion, although there can happen some environmental concerns in rural parts, there is a multitude of benefits which can bring out the best in downtown. In my point of view, I encourage businesses and people to settle in those far places in the meanwhile they should protect the environment.