Concern for the environment is growing and more and more people are choosing to recycle. But some people suggest that recycling is not enough. They believe we need to consume less. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that recycling is a key for the solution of a global environmental problem. However, others are convinced that we need to do more. They suggest to consume not so much. Recycling is becoming more and more popular nowadays. People think that it will help our environment not to suffer from the human’s activity. Due to this trend a number of landfills is decreasing. There is no need for the government to use country’s territory for the landfills anymore. So that it can be given to people who can use it for the agriculture, earning money for living and solving the global problem of hunger simultaneously. On the other hand, others are at the opinion that recycling is not the solution. Not all parts of the world are ready to recycle. A lot of governments neither have money to build a trash recycling plant, nor the opportunity to teach their citizens how to recycle through some state courses. So that the trend to recycle is not enough because it is not solving the environmental problem on the global level. Some people think that overconsumption is the biggest problem which needs to be solved. Clothes, cosmetics, cars are becoming more valuable than the environment’s condition. Consequently, people become less concerned about the nature and the planet becomes more polluted. If we will deal with the overconsumption, which is the main source of the global environmental problem, it helps to reduce the level of pollution. To summarize, I totally agree with the statement that overconsumption is the source of the global environmental problem. Overconsumption makes the society concerned only about things to buy. They worry more about how they are dressed or which perfume to use instead of searching for the solution of the air pollution problem or the plastic in the ocean.