Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisement has impacted the way human beings purchase their daily needs. Nowadays, the excessive sales of popular consumer goods demonstrates the power of advertising, not the actual needs of individuals who purchase. I partially agree that advertising has a powerful impact to convince people to buy things they don’t require. Sellers choose to advertise consumer goods in a way that people are inclined to get some even when it’s not really needed. These advertisements are noticeable i.e. buy one, get one free or buy now and pay later, as a result, people tend to get them. For instance - I went to the shopping centre yesterday and saw an advertisement outside of a grocery shop highlighting that we will get $30 back if we spend a minimum of $100. I happened to spend $150 which became $120 but later I realised that I have got everything at home. Hence, there are many people like me who are willing to spend hundreds of dollars to get unwanted goods leading to the increment in sales because of powerful advertisements. However, some advertisements are designed in order to support societal needs. There are several goods that are known to individuals only through advertising. My friend was looking to buy a laptop but was very confused. The same day he saw an advertisement of the latest Macbook. He was astonished by its look and features and the second day, he went to the apple store and bought it. To conclude, it is evident that people are influenced by advertisements and are buying goods even if they don't need it except in some minor cases. Thus, if advertisements are regulated from time to time considering the needs of public, it will be beneficial for both consumers and sellers.