Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The earth’s environment is mostly ruined by human action, such as extinct and endangered species of plants and animals, global warming, and oil spills. There have been debates on what is the main environmental problem of our time. In this essay, I will explain two main environmental problems and express my thoughts on which one of the two is more likely to be more problematic in the future. One of the main topics people bring up when environmental problems are mentioned is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Many species of organisms have been extinct in our generation due to human action, including hunting to extinction and indirect pollution. This could cause many problems in the future because some of the organisms that were lost could be very useful to the environment or humans. For example, black panthers are one of the animals that have been hunted by humans to the point of being endangered. It was not until decades later that the panther was needed in order for the food chain to function properly. On the other hand, global warming is another big topic to consider. Humans caused global warming by burning fossil fuels, producing greenhouse gases, and much more. This could lead to a very serious problem in the near future, starting with icebergs in the Arctic being melted, causing sea level to rise. If the sea level rises, it would create more environmental problems such as erosion. In conclusion, global warming and the loss of many species of organisms are both hazardous problems. In my opinion, I believe that global warming is more likely to be the main problem in the future, because the loss of organisms will undoubtedly affect multiple ecosystems, while global warming will affect the whole planet.