Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

In this day and age, it is a common belief that it may be better for government to allocate more funds to the construction of new houses as well as road systems rather than the restoration of old buildings since this activity can waste the authorities a large amount of money. From my perspective, I do not concur with this view because of a myriad of culprits. First and foremost, I put forward my idea that renovation of the old buildings might be of uttermost significance to preserve the distinctive architecture as well as cultural values of the locality. If this is implemented well, it will attract numerous visitors paying these destinations a visit annually and make a huge contribution to the revenue of our countries. Hoi An ancient town in Viet Nam is a telling example of this. Indeed, this destination has a national and worldwide reputation for a wide range of buildings which faithfully followed the bold architectural designs of China. As a result, the old buildings turn Hoi An into one of the most outstanding tourist attractions in VietNam which may be ample to compensate for repair fees. Besides, ancient architecture are believed to play an indispensable part in the history and culture of every country. Thanks to these, individuals can keep their identity as well as the enormous sacrifices of their ancestors to win the victory in the former days in mind, and they will endeavour to live up to the previous generations’ expectations as a result. For example, no matter how exorbitant the price to restore old buildings may be, the government still invest much money in preserving Independence Palace because this heritage site can instil in every Vietnamese’memory how bravely the former generations sacrifice to form the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam these days. In conclusion, notwithstanding the costly expenditure spent on restoring ancient buildings, I believe that it is pivotal for the government to take old architectural renovation into consideration seriously.