Studying art in school improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that art has a huge role to play in schools’ curriculum. It is believed that students having proficiency in more than one subject can grasp new ideas easily, and therefore this profession should be made mandatory in institutions. I completely disagree with this viewpoint and will support my view with examples. Firstly, it is clear how essential art is in developing a student's personality. It is said that learning an art form teaches us the significance of practice and patience. For instance, a recent study conducted by Cornell found that students who were good in science and an art form had a more all-rounded personality than those without an art hobby. However, not everyone takes an interest in art, and some might also have a liking towards sport. If at all art is made compulsory then the students interested in sports may not give their hundred percent in the field which they like. In addition, some sports such as football requires dedication and practice which continues for hours, and hence studying art can act as a hindrance in their sports development. Secondly, faculties nowadays are modernized. Along with academics, extra-curricular activities like participation in sports, science exhibitions and math clubs are encouraged. For example, along with regular school hours youngsters also dedicate some hours out of their schedule to extra-curricular activities. As it is they are in too much pressure and by adding arts to this long list of activities, they might get overburdened. Therefore, it is better to keep arts as an optional choice in the school curriculum. In this way, they get the freedom of choosing arts according to their will. In conclusion, although by learning arts students can improve their productivity in universities. Personally, I feel that it can act as a barrier in the development of students who are more inclined toward a different field. Furthermore, I believe it should be an optional subject, as making it an obligatory subject might only increase their work burden.