Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life. To what extent do you agree with this view? What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working life?

It is true that working life satisfaction is closely associated with the career one chooses to pursue. While some people have benefitted from making this important decision earlier in life, there are many other factors that can contribute to a satisfying working experience. On one hand, picking a career path early in life benefits one ’s long-term professional development. Undeniably, a successful career is built upon long-standing efforts and dedication. Many professionals spend years learning the knowledge in a specialized area, honing their technical skills, and establishing connections and networks in the industry, which are all key to success. The earlier they start making these efforts, the more advantages they will enjoy compared to their peers. For example, professional athletes usually begin their trainings at a young age when they demonstrate talent in a particular area. Moreover, by sticking to one area of work, we can concentrate our time and resources, which increases the chance of making impressive achievements. On the other hand, happiness in working life can be found in many ways. First of all, it is only normal that we switch paths as our interests change. It is common for kids to say they want to be a doctor today and change their answer to an astronaut tomorrow. In my experience, what makes our work fulfilling is doing what we are passionate about, which sometimes takes time to discover. As an example, the award-winning film director Li An didn’t realize his enthusiasm and talent for movies until he was in his forties. This did not affect his ability to achieve a prosperous career in the movie industry. In addition, it is not uncommon in modern society to juggle multiple jobs, which means it's not necessary to dedicate one's entire life to one particular choice of work. In fact, versatility is a much-valued quality today. Finally, other factors contribute to satisfaction at work as well, such as a positive work environment, intelligent and reliable colleagues, and good work - life balance. In summary, I agree that picking a career early in life has its advantages. But other factors contribute to an enjoyable working life as well.