Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Recently, the debate on whether mental strength or physical strength make a more significant role in sports success has been heated. While some people argue that physical strength ensures the basic capacity in sport, others believe that mental strength can bring resilience. As far as I am concerned, mental strength is more beneficial for success in sport as it creates long-run durability. In this essay, I will outline both sides and elaborate on my view. To begin with, physical strength can reinforce one's ability. Since athletes will not be strong enough if they cannot persist in their training, more expertise is needed for improvement. For example, runners need to train every day to break records and win a race. In this way, physical strength provided fundamental skills and the ability to succeed in the sport. On the other hand, endurance can be achieved by mental strength. As some competitors' confidence may be lost once they fault many times, resilience from mental strength can inspire them to maintain training. For instance, mental strength can let athletes be persisted in hard-working training to boost their performance in long journey swimming. Therefore, mental strength can result in long-term development. In conclusion, though physical strength can bring higher speed, mental strength can prevent them from misjudging their value and thus, being more confident in every event. Generally rather than acquiring a superior performance by physical strength, being enduring in sport and having the power to focus on the target by mental strength may be the key to success.