Most modern families have both parents working and as a result children spend less and less time with their parents. What is the reason for this? What problems can this cause ?

IIn the modern world, children do not spend enough time with their parents as the majority of mums and dads work from dawn to dusk. I will discuss and analyse the significant reason and the resultant problems which arise due to this new trend in this essay. The main reason for having working mothers and fathers in the 21st century is to achieve economic stability. For instance, prices have soared nowadays as everything from healthcare and education to food and housing have become extremely expensive. In order to increase their affordability, both parents decide to work. This not only helps them to meet the challenges of inflation but also assists them in providing their children with the luxuries of life. By increasing their income, parents can afford a lavish lifestyle (such as a posh car, a luxury home and a hefty bank balance) that also enhances their social status. Obviously, the absence of both parents from home due to being employed has serious ramifications on their children. The influence of bad company and the negative impact on family bonding are the two main problems of this modern concept. Firstly, the unsupervised children often get trapped with the wrong people and develop undesirable habits. Take, the issue of juvenile drug abuse, as an illustration, children try alcohol and other drugs such as heroin out of curiosity by seeing their peers and soon become addicts. Secondly, when parents are away and do not spend enough time with their children, this adversely affects the bonding of a family. As a consequence, children do not share their problems with their parents. This creates an unnecessary distance among the family members. In conclusion, since mostly both parents are working in the contemporary era, children hardly spend quality time with their parents. Although this is extremely beneficial for families to achieve financial security through the earnings of both parents, children may get spoiled and it may also affect the parent-child relationship.