Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is apparent that in these modern days people tend to travel by car more often which causes a high demand for cars. While a number of roads cannot catch up with the rate of cars and it causes heavy congestion in the big cities around the world. From my point of view, I totally agree with the latter statement. Moreover, the government should take serious action on policy on how to reduce the number of cars. It is true today that people own cars more than before, not only the population of humans on the earth is rising but there are numerous reasons why people choose to roam by their own car. Firstly, It is more convenient than travelling by public transportation such as a bus, boat or train. For example, buses sometimes can be late or not on time, while owning a car would not cause this problem. Secondly, with an improvement of new technology in cars and so many interesting features just as an autopilot function from Tesla motor company. Therefore, the desire for auto grows rapidly. However, the government should play an important role in reducing the number of cars and being responsible for delivering the proper policy for this issue. They should provide an efficient policy for people. For example, they should raise a tax on the car owner more than before. In addition, the authorities can provide suitable public transportation and make it cheaper, much more reliable, and safe. Thus, people will definitely choose buses, trains or subways instead of cars. In conclusion, the rising of cars causes traffic jams. It is understandable that people select a comfortable technology by owning cars. However, the government can take action by improving public transportation and keeping more taxes from car owners. Doing so can lead to a less number of cars in the societies.