Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

Many people hold the view that governments should invest more money on traffic facilities such as roads or motorways than public transportations. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this view for several following reasons. The first reason for my belief lies with the fact that the public transport system can solve the causes of traffic jams. This is because our world is facing overpopulation, which means more citizens use their private transports than before. The mentioned situation may lead to many citizens having some difficulties while commuting to workplaces on time. Therefore, public transports such as buses or subways become the most suitable solution for this issue. For example, according to many surveys, 80% of workers who reach their workplaces on time by using buses. In addition to the reason above, public vehicles help workers to save time and money on commuting. A clear illustration for this can be depicted through the fact that the cost of fuel, gasoline for instance, increases dramatically due to the lack of fossil fuels. Moreover, people have to spend more time traveling to workplaces because of the extreme traffic jams. Therefore, workers have a tendency to travel by public vehicles, which can have them commute at a very short time with an appropriate fee. This means they can save their budget to some extent. For instance, according to an article I have read before, workers at suburban factories spend $50 for public transport while others spend $100 for their private vehicles. Furthermore, public vehicles take 15 minutes to reach the factories while others spend 45 minutes commuting by their cars. In conclusion, my viewpoint does not lie with the fact that the government should spend more of its national budget on improving roads than public vehicles.